Catch-up Post

If you’re expecting a post on condiments, I apologize. This isn’t a ketchup post, but a catch up one instead. (Okay. I’m obviously still brain dead from two weeks at camp. That was the best I could come up with, sadly.)

I’ve finished four books over the last two weeks but did not have time to get them properly blogged during camp. So, here is the condensed version.

The Overlook (Harry Bosch) by Michael Connelly. This story ended up being a bit too predictable for me, unfortunately. Not that it was a bad read, or that I had it all figured out from the get-go, but if it was supposed to be a shocking discovery at the end when the guilty party was revealed, it did not deliver.

quickie.jpgThe Quickie by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge. Despite the title, there is not a whole lot of sex in this book. I did not enjoy this one at all. The main character’s reaction to her dilemma was wrong, yet it’s written in such a way that you’re supposed to hope she gets away with it. And, (SPOILER ALERT) she does get away with it and prospers. Yuck.

deathlyhallows.jpgHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7) by J. K. Rowling. I can’t figure out much to say about this without possibly ruining it for someone who has not gotten to read it yet. Suffice it to say, I really enjoyed it and was surprised by some things and still need to puzzle some others out.

darkriver.jpgThe Dark River (Fourth Realm Trilogy, Book 2) by John Twelve Hawks. This second book of the Fourth Realm Trilogy really did not deliver, I’m sorry to have to say. It didn’t seem to really move the story along very far for starters, and I really was not impressed with the idea of the Ark of the Covenant as a portal into the other worlds. Blech. Seems like it’s trendy these days to give different explanations for Biblical things in fiction stories. I don’t mind it occasionally, but enough already.

All but Harry Potter are available as audio from Audible.com, and I “read” all but The Deathly Hallows that way. BTW, I wasn’t too impressed with the reader for The Dark River though. His attempts at various accents fell flat and I often could not tell when he was switching from character to character.

Happy reading.

  1. happytheman
    Monday, 30 July 2007 at 6:23 pm

    I’m glad someone is reading this…guess what were reading the same book right now…i was sitting in the local coffee shop when my girlfriends daughter came in saw what i was reading and said…i know why I like you now… haha

  2. Monday, 30 July 2007 at 7:25 pm

    LOL, yes. A good way to impress women. (Well, some women at least. :-))

  3. clint
    Tuesday, 31 July 2007 at 1:08 pm

    It is a good thing I do not have to impress women.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment