Home > Booking Through Thursday > BTT – Half

BTT – Half

This week Booking Through Thursday asks:

So … you’re halfway through a book and you’re hating it. It’s boring. It’s trite. It’s badly written. But … you’ve invested all this time to reading the first half.

What do you do? Read the second half? Just to finish out the story? Find out what happens?

Or, cut your losses and dump the second half?

To answer this question, it almost seems to me like a mathematical equation could be used: an if x then y sort of thing. There are a lot of variables to how I would answer this one, not just a flat “ditch it” or “slog on”.

If it’s non-fiction hard copy or audio then I almost always cut my losses.

If it’s a fiction audiobook then I almost always go ahead and listen to the end. (Though perhaps not as attentively as if it were a book I was enjoying.)

If it’s a fiction hard copy then I don’t finish it.

If it’s a book club selection then I try to slog through so I can give a good strong critique. (Though I do have to admit just saying “It was so horrid I couldn’t finish it” is a pretty strong critique in and of itself and one I have used before.)

If a strange mood hits me then there’s a good chance I might do the complete opposite of everything I just asserted I do!

How about you? What’s your response to this week’s BTT question?

  1. Thursday, 6 May 2010 at 9:03 am

    Haha great answer! Love the examples. My BTT answer is at The Crowded Leaf.

  2. Thursday, 6 May 2010 at 1:08 pm

    An x then y sort of thing, haha cute anaology

    My post

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/05/btt-half-way-give-up-or-complete-book.html

  3. Sunday, 9 May 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Here are the comments from my Facebook link to this page:

    KBB says on Thursday at 9:45am: “Why waste your valuable time, move on to something more interesting. I can usually tell in just a few pages, if I’m going to like a book or not. I move on, to another.”

    PSH says on Thursday at 11:08am: “If it’s a book club book I go ahead and read it so I have lots of complaints to report and so anyone who liked it can’t say that it was really, really good in the last half if I had just finished it.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

