Home > Booking Through Thursday > BTT – Restrictions

BTT – Restrictions

Thursday, 29 April 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today’s BTT topic:

God comes to you and tells you that, from this day forward, you may only read ONE type of book–one genre–period, but you get to choose what it is. Classics, Science-Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Cookbooks, History, Business … you can choose, but you only get ONE.

What genre do you pick, and why?

In general, if God really was in the business of telling people they could only choose one genre to read, I have the feeling it would probably be wise to go with Biblical literature, just to be on the safe side. With a little lawyeristic finagling, you could also end up with a wider range of things to read as well, since there seems to be a “Christian” version of all the types listed.

For myself, I think if I was told I could only pick one genre to read, the result would not be pretty. I’d be contemplating whether the punishment for disobeying would be unbearable or considering how I could get around the edict. Or doing the nagging widow thing (a la Luke 18:1-8) hoping God would change His mind. (Look, God! Elizabeth George has a new book out. It’s getting great reviews, but it’s not on my approved genre list. Can I switch for a bit? Oh, oh, oh! Neil Gaimen just published a series of short stories. His short stories are great, Lord. Couldn’t I read that one, too? Wow. New freezer cookbook. Please?! Etc. Etc. Ad nauseum. He’d say yes just to get me to shut up.)

How about you? Would you be able to choose just one genre for today’s Booking Through Thursday question?

  1. ssgirl
    Thursday, 29 April 2010 at 7:50 am

    haha great response. Although I don’t think I could do a lifetime of biblical literature. I also love the imagine of argue with God about allowing a diversion from the selected genre.

  2. Thursday, 29 April 2010 at 8:40 am

    Classics is my choice because that really covers more than one genre!
    http://islandofvoices.blogspot.com/2010/04/btt-restrictions.html

  3. Thursday, 29 April 2010 at 10:00 am

    Great answer!

    I also thought about bargaining with God, but decided not to press my luck.

    Glad I found your blog!

    Here is my BTT answer on Rose City Reader.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

