Home > Bookish Things > Busybody Bibliophilist — Shelving Books

Busybody Bibliophilist — Shelving Books

Readers have different ideas of how to handle a completed book. Some pass them on, others keep them. Some do a combination of both. Are you one of those people who has bookshelves? I’ve noticed that people’s bookshelves can be vastly different – ranging from precisely ordered to randomly packed books. (Not to mention more knick-knacks than books in some cases, but that’s another topic.) Personally, I’d love to have my books shelved by Dewey Decimal but when I have attempted it in the past I had a difficult time finding the numbers for all of my books and ended up giving up on that idea. So, I have my books arranged by topic then by author. I do have to admit to getting behind in my shelving and ending up with piles shoved on the shelves waiting to be sorted properly. But, in my ideal scenario, they’d all be in order of some sort.

How about you? Does wishing for Dewey Decimal ordered books seem like overkill to you? Do you give any thought to how your books are shelved or prefer to place them where they fit and be done with it? Would you take a second and answer my poll question? Feel free to leave any comments you have on the subject as well.

Categories: Bookish Things
  1. Peggy Holley
    Monday, 26 April 2010 at 9:47 am

    Would prefer the Library of Congress system.

  2. Lynne
    Monday, 26 April 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Honestly, I place them where ever they will fit, but I do have an underlying order, so I went with the last.

  3. Steve
    Monday, 26 April 2010 at 10:28 pm

    I put them in a pile and my wife organizes then somewhere somehow.

  4. lisa
    Thursday, 29 April 2010 at 11:52 am

    place them where they will fit (and I am a librarian!)

    So all my bookcases (and there are lots!) take on a sort of random yet related personality– ie. randomly placed yet all related to the topics I “collect.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

