Home > Audiobooks, Non-fiction: Christianity, Non-fiction: Humor > Stuff Christians Like by Jonathan Acuff

Stuff Christians Like by Jonathan Acuff

Wednesday, 21 April 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Non-fiction: Christianity/Humor. Unabridged audio from Zondervan. Published in 2010. Read by the author. 4 hours and 24 minutes. Free (during April 2010) from christianaudio.com.

Before downloading this free audio from christianaudio.com, I had heard of the Stuff Christians Like book and website, but knew pretty nothing about them beyond their existence and that humor was involved. I am glad that I got a chance to listen to the book — especially after just listening to David Sedaris. It is interesting to think about the parallels between their humor (self-depreciating, aware of the absurd) as well as the differences (sometimes dark statements of the way things are, compared to mostly joyful teasing towards improvement). I definitely enjoyed Acuff more than Sedaris. I should however stipulate that while Acuff made me laugh more often, Sedaris made me laugh harder when he finally found my funny bone.

One small complaint about the audio editing: it’s difficult to tell when he’s switching subjects because in the editing process they left absolutely no time between the end of each chapter and the title of the next section. I’m sure it helped to keep the file size down but it made it very difficult to realize that he was finished with one topic and on to another.

Sometimes, we fall in love on mission trips even though we know we’ll break up when we get back. Sometimes, you have to shot block a friend’s prayer because she’s asking God to bless an obviously bad dating relationship. Sometimes, you think, “I wish I had a t-shirt that said ‘I direct deposit my tithe’ so people wouldn’t judge me.”

Sometimes, the stuff that comes with faith is funny. This is that stuff.

Jonathan Acuff’s Stuff Christians Like is your field guide to all things Christian. You’ll learn the culinary magic of the crock-pot. Think you’ve got a Metro worship leader—use Acuff’s checklist. Want to avoid a prayer handholding faux pas? Acuff has you covered.

Like a satirical grenade, Acuff brings us the humor and honesty that galvanized more than a million online readers from more than 200 countries in a new portable version. Welcome to the funny side of faith.

You can download a free copy of the audio until the end of April:

christianaudio.com

Or if you’d prefer a hard copy:

Amazon.com
Powells.com

  1. Kevin Rossen
    Sunday, 25 April 2010 at 11:24 pm

    I’ve got my digital copy in my iPad (in the Kindle app). There are some funny cartoons throughout the book, too, so it may be worth skimming through just for the pictures.

  2. Sunday, 9 May 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Good to know, Kevin. Thanks!

  3. Sunday, 9 May 2010 at 7:29 pm

    From my Facebook link to this post:

    SB says on April 21 at 9:45am: “Picked this book up last week…love it!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

