Home > Booking Through Thursday > BTT – Grammar

BTT – Grammar

In honor of National Grammar Day … it IS “March Fourth” after all … do you have any grammar books? Punctuation? Writing guidelines? Style books?

More importantly, have you read them?

How do you feel about grammar in general? Important? Vital? Unnecessary? Fussy?

Twenty years of home-schooling will undoubtedly land a few grammar books on the family shelves. However, rather than reading cover to cover we are more of the “hmm, let’s see what the book says about it” types.

My feelings towards grammar in general are mixed. Not because I ever feel like it is unimportant, but because there are times where it makes my head spin. (Pretty much all of the time.) I have a better handle on spelling, and could rant all day about “your” and “you’re”. Strictly speaking spelling isn’t grammar though, is it?

I’m going to resist the urge to get out a grammar book and check everything I’ve written so far. Instead I’ll leave you with this song:

For more info on NGD you can visit this National Grammar Day page. If you’d like to see what other BTTers have said on the subject of grammar, visit Booking Through Thursday and follow the links in the comments.

  1. Thursday, 4 March 2010 at 8:54 am

    I definitely agree – grammar books are more of the “refer to as needed” type of thing. You wouldn’t want to sit down and read one.

    My response is here.

  2. Thursday, 4 March 2010 at 9:25 am

    I am enjoying reading all the different thoughts and opinions. My BTT answer can be found here: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/03/booking-through-thursday-grammar.html

  3. Thursday, 4 March 2010 at 10:53 am

    LOL, I actually use to have a problem with the whole your and you’re. I think I am better at it. 🙂 See, even old dogs like me can learn occasionally. Here’s mine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

