Home > None Yet > Booking Through Thursday Book Meme

Booking Through Thursday Book Meme

Saturday, 11 October 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Booking Through Thursday is a web site with weekly book related questions to blog about. New questions are posted every Thursday and then the participants post a link to their response on the original post. Looks like fun to me, so here I go!

What was the last book you bought?

Actual physical books: Daughters of Eve: Seeing Ourselves in Women of the Bible and Introducing Jesus: Starting an Investigative Bible Study for Seekers (both in one order from Amazon.com). Audio book: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Name a book you have read MORE than once

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

Probably, but right now I can’t think of one.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

All of the above.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

Depends on what kind of mood I’m in.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

I tend to get impatient with long descriptive paragraphs, so I’ll have to go with the gripping plot. I will say, though, that I do enjoy a well turned phrase.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

I like Lady Sybil in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld Series.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?

Books by Barry McMurty, Making Room by Christine Pohl, Introducing Jesus by Peter Scazzero, Eulalia by Brian Jacques, Celtic Daily Prayer, The Divine Hours by Phyllis Tickle, Nation by Terry Pratchett, and a Fiendish Su Doku book. If you include the audiobooks that are on my iPod which is also on my nightstand, you could add about two hundred more titles.

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

The Blue Parakeet by Scot McKnight. Finished today.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

Many times. I’m about to give up on one of the ones on my nightstand. (Books by McMurty)

So, if you’d like to answer these questions, too, go for it! Either answer in the comments or leave me a link. I’d like to see your answers.

Categories: None Yet
  1. Tuesday, 14 October 2008 at 9:41 am

    that’s a pretty decent nightstand you have there… 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

