Home > Bookish Things > Would you….

Would you….

highlight a book that someone had loaned you?

Categories: Bookish Things
  1. Steve
    Tuesday, 4 March 2008 at 9:20 pm

    No! Did someone do that to you? Was it I?

  2. Wednesday, 5 March 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Yep, but it wasn’t you. I could understand you doing it, after all, we live in the same house and it wouldn’t really be a loan. But I never imagined someone would highlight a book I loaned them. Guess I was proven wrong.

  3. Wednesday, 19 March 2008 at 8:49 am

    I have a colleague who asks people to mark in the books that he loans to others. He says that he likes to read the observations of others. As for me and my house, we will refrain from writing in the margins of books that belong to us.

  4. Wednesday, 19 March 2008 at 9:18 am

    Hmm. Interesting idea. I suppose I’d rather just talk about the book with the person than have them write in it. In part I think because it isn’t really my practice to write in my books, either. The other part of me that objects so strongly is the part that believes you should be respectful of other people’s things. Perhaps I should have added something to the original post about highlighting a book without asking or being asked first. 🙂

  5. Saturday, 22 March 2008 at 9:34 am

    May God’s richest blessings be yours as you reflect on the extent of His love demonstrated through

    the death His Son on the cross and the awesomeness of His power exhibited through the resurrection.

    To God be the glory!

    -bill
    a spiritual oasis

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

