Home > None Yet > I Told the Mountain to Move by Patricia Raybon

I Told the Mountain to Move by Patricia Raybon

Wednesday, 3 August 2005 Leave a comment Go to comments

Non-Fiction. Hardback from Salt River. Published in 2005. On loan from the Cascade Public Library.

I saw this book advertised in a magazine and thought I might like to read it. I wasn’t sure I wanted to buy it, so I checked our library web site and discovered that I was able to get it through the interlibrary loan program.

Some books on prayer leave me a bit irritated. I’ve never been to impressed with books that seem to me to be telling the reader that if they just follow steps 1, 2 and 3 then God will answer all of their prayers. So, it is always with a bit of trepidation that I open a book on prayer. Fortunately, this book was nothing like that. Patricia Raybon is obviously a woman who has done a lot of reading on prayer as the book the liberally sprinkled with quoted wisdom from writers like Richard Foster, Oswald Chambers, and Andrew Murray (plus many others). Written in a narrative style, for the most part the “bits of widsom” flowed smoothly into the story. There were a couple of times when it seemed like she was gone off on a tangent and I wondered when she would get back to the topic at hand, but it was not bad at all. There is much to deliberate on in this book and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Publisher’s summary:
Raised in a strict, church-going family, award-winning writer Patricia Raybon was shocked to find herself struggling in adulthood with a lifeless marriage and an unsettling distance from God. She set out to rebuild her prayer life, searching for a connection that would transform her household and impact others. But as her prayer journey took off, life interrupted with a mountain of hard, personal challenges. Suddenly in the “school of prayer,” the Christopher Award-winner and popular college professor found herself not only on her knees praying, but at her desk–writing this powerful, inspiring, funny, personal, brave, redemptive account of her quest to rediscover, in the midst of modern-day challenges, God’s greatest lesson on life-changing prayer.

To buy from amazon.co.uk, click here: I Told the Mountain to Move
from amazon.com, click here: I Told The Mountain To Move

Categories: None Yet
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

