Home > Bookish Things > The Bridge

The Bridge

In Datchet, there is a small tea shop, run by the Ecumenical Parish Council. It’s called The Bridge and is run by volunteers from all the Parish churches. They serve tea and coffee, scones, cakes, cookies as well as sandwiches and soup.

Last year I was recruited to work as a “fill in” person. I would go in on days when a regular worker couldn’t make it. Just recently I was asked if I’d like to have a regularly scheduled afternoon to work. I’ve just begun taking the kids with me as helpers, since there is no other person free to work with me on Thursday afternoons.

It is an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours a week. People are almost always friendly and once they hear me talk, they inevitably ask me where I’m from. I must be beginning to blend a bit though, because when I first started they always said “Oh! You’re from the states. Where?” and now they just say with a quizzical look “You aren’t from here, are you?”

Categories: Bookish Things
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

