Home > booksneeze, Non-fiction: Christianity > Latest read: Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado

Latest read: Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado

Friday, 10 September 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Non-Fiction: Christianity. Hardback from Thomas Nelson. Published 2010. 240 pages. Free review copy from Booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review of the book. And, here it is:

Many years ago our oldest son was battling cancer at Wilford Hall Medical Center on Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. Somehow word reached a couple who were members at the church where Max Lucado preaches and they came to visit us, bringing me my first glimpse of his work. Because of their kindness, and because I enjoyed the book, I have continued to read many of the works that Lucado has published through the years.

When I first saw the title I was reminded of the “Million Miles” book I recently read by Donald Miller, and in many ways the message is the same. But I think it’s such a great lesson that the more people discuss it, the better. Lucado’s books seem to all follow the same pattern, and this one is no exception. It’s a quick read, but still has some excellent reminders of what is really important. Lucado is donating all of his royalties from the book to World Vision, which is a great example of practicing what he’s preaching in this book.

Publisher’s Summary:

Click to order on Amazon

These are difficult days in our world’s history. 1.75 billion people are desperately poor, natural disasters are gouging entire nations, and economic uncertainty still reigns across the globe. But you and I have been given an opportunity to make a big difference. What if we did? What if we rocked the world with hope? Infiltrated all corners with God’s love and life? We are created by a great God to do great works. He invites us to outlive our lives, not just in heaven, but here on earth. Let’s live our lives in such a way that the world will be glad we did.

  1. Friday, 10 September 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Great review and glimpse into your life. Brea and I are planning on getting and reading the book. You’ve confirmed that it’s a good idea.

    Side note, I never got my first book that I requested from BookSneeze, but I’m about to jump back on their site to try again.

    • Saturday, 11 September 2010 at 8:45 am

      Thanks, Kevin. That’s bizarre that they didn’t send the book. I guess they must’ve had a glitch. I think BookSneeze is still offering copies of this book. But, I’m happy to loan you my copy if you’d like.

      • Saturday, 11 September 2010 at 10:20 pm

        After I read your post I jumped over there and got the digital copy. Thanks!

  2. Janice Kramar
    Saturday, 11 September 2010 at 1:43 pm

    More than comment, I commend you for writing this good and concise review.
    I haven’t read the book, but I like the title.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment