Home > Bookish Things, Busybody Bibliophilist > Busybody Bibliophilist asks: Book or Movie first?

Busybody Bibliophilist asks: Book or Movie first?

Things continue to be slow here on Bibliophilist as I am still doing battle with the dreaded vertigo. Skirmishes have been won but the war is as of yet undecided.

Despite not reading or posting much during this time of warfare, the old brain was thinking today about what to read once this health issue is settled, and a reread of the final Harry Potter book came to mind. There are times that it’s enjoyable to revisit a story before seeing the movie. (The two part movie version of HP7 will come out later this year for part one and next year for part two). It can be disappointing when the movie changes the plot line or leaves out a favorite part, but I don’t think I’ve ever regretted reading a book before seeing the movie version and will often go looking for the book a movie was based on if I haven’t read it yet.

When it comes to books and movies, do you like to read (or reread) a book before seeing the movie version? If you see (and enjoy) a movie then find out it was adapted from a book would that make you more or less likely to read the book? Or do you prefer to have your books be books and your movies movies?

  1. Lynne
    Monday, 9 August 2010 at 10:30 am

    I do like to re-read before seeing the film (or after seeing it, I’m not picky). As for liking the result, it really depends on the book/film. Sometimes the film is an excellent adaption and sometimes it is an insult to all of humanity. Just how it is! Usually, if there is a film that I’m interested in that is based on a book, I’ll go find the book.

    • Monday, 9 August 2010 at 10:43 am

      I think that sometimes movies leave out so many important things that you have to read the book in order for the story to even make sense.

  2. Dawn
    Monday, 9 August 2010 at 5:07 pm

    I enjoy reading the book and finding the differences between the movie and the book. I usually see a movie and then find the book. This was especially true of the Jane Austin books and the Harry Potter series. I am re-reading Emma after watching all the movies–I could find on NetFlix. How about taking a few books through the ears — there are Free sites for audio books–human and computer voices. Off hand I think Pagebypagebooks has this feature or christianaudio.com

    • Monday, 9 August 2010 at 5:42 pm

      I’m an audiobook nut, Dawn! I listen to more books these days than I actually read off of the page, I think. I haven’t wanted to listen while I was feeling dizzy though – not really sure why. Possibly because I usually listen while doing things.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

